User Account Requirement for Farm Administrator error when installing PowerPivot

When installing SQL 2008 R2 PowerPivot in a SharePoint farm, you might come across this error during the installation rules checks:

clip_image002

I generally assign administrative permissions using domain security groups. In this case, I have my “Domain\SharePoint Farm Admins” account setup as a member of the Farm Administrators SharePoint group in Central Administration. All is good. Except, when trying to install SQL Server 2008 R2 PowerPivot for SharePoint, the installation wizard gives me this error. This wizard doesn’t do a great job of checking effective permissions. It is basically checking if the account you are logged in as is an explicit member of the Farm Administrators SharePoint group. So, even though I have the right permissions as far as SharePoint is concerned, I still need to add my account directly into the Farm Administrators group in CA. Once I did that, click Re-run on the installation wizard and the check will pass.

Leave a Reply

